Front of Building.jpg


Though the idea of establishing a country club was not his, Sylvan Cohen, one of Philadelphia’s most respected attorneys, was the moving force behind the founding of Meadowlands. Forty-five years later, in a letter to Jay Friedman, the club’s professional, he recalled the circumstances: 

"It was in late 1949 that one of my friends asked me if I would be interested in the formation of a new Country Club. At the time, they had in mind taking over a golf course in the Frankford area of Philadelphia, but it was found that this was not available.  Through one connection or another, I then met up with representatives of a woman who owned the property which currently forms Meadowlands Country Club and who was in the midst of winding up a divorce proceeding with her husband. She was interested in selling the property [on Pennllyn Pike in Blue Bell].

I negotiated with her representatives over a number of months.... During the course of negotiations she wanted to know just what people constituted the buyer, how many members were actually signed up for the Country Club, etc. Needless to say, I gave her very optimistic reports, since we were holding meetings almost weekly and inviting people to review our plans who were prospective members.  At any rate, through a whole series of negotiations, I finally wound up entering into a firm contract to buy the property, consisting of 130 acres plus the manor house, swimming pool, stables and other facilities for $130,000, or $1,000 per acre for the 130 acres.

It was in spring of 1951 that we held the formal opening of Meadowlands Country Club in the existing manor house before we expanded it over the years.  The following men comprised the club’s first board of governors: Harry Blofstein, Morris Boehm, Alfred B. Carp, Sylvan M. Cohen, Sidney Cohn, Max E. Falik, Milton Gold, Samuel Green, Leonard Gross, Harold L. Landesberg, Ben F. Lieber, Jules Link, J. Leonard Schorr, Irvin Segal, Walter Seideman, Paul Silver, Myron B. Sloane, Edward Taxin, Howard Weiss, and Jack L. Wolgin. Sylvan Cohen was elected president. The other officers were Alfred Carp, secretary; Irvin Segal, treasurer; Jack Wolgin, vice president; Max Falik, vice president; and Harold Landesberg, vice president.